how can we dance if our earth is turning

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=M2zxZCMzJig

It´s the song that is on my mind, in my brain today. I can´t get rid of it and to be honest with you I don´t want to. It played on the radio and just stuck with me. I know that it will wear out and disappear again but right now it allows me to feel. It is difficult to explain but right now this song gives me all that what neurotypical people get from hugs and touching. Temple Grandin needs her "hug machine", I just need the right song at the right time. It is not the whole song, just parts of it. When I was younger and had my first walkman ( it was a life saver ), I used to record the same song over and over and listen to it for hours. In really bad times I would just listen to one and the same sequence of a song which would get shorter and shorter. I´d wear a song out in a day because I would become addicted to it. Once I have worn out a song, I am in a desperate need to find a new one. Nowadays though I always have two or three that will do the job. That´s also why I have my earphones on most of the time. Listening to that particular song calmes me down, helps me to function, to concentrate, to relax, to feel...It´s my favourite stimming but not my only one and it´s not particularly socially adaquate. But it´s something I need. For a while it makes me function. For a while it brings order in a world that is chaos otherwise. 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Richard (Saturday, 07 April 2012 22:52)

    I know,but so many do not. It works for you and that is all that matters